You are here

Library

‘Libraries are the wardrobes of literature, whence men, properly informed may bring forth something for ornament, much for curiosity, and more for use’ - William Dyer

Welcome to the Great Writers Inspire Resources Library. Here, you can search for and access thousands of literary open education resources such as audio and video podcasts, essays, ebooks, images and more. Explore the virtual shelves by searching by keyword in the title, author, and by media type.

If you don’t know where to begin, you can access our writer collections and themed collections for inspiration.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 3789
Format Title Author/Contributor Source
Audio Loathly Ladies Carolyne Larrington, Fay Hield, Brian McMahon https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/loathly-ladies
Audio Fairies, Children and Changelings Carolyne Larrington, Fay Hield, Brian McMahon, Marry Waterson, Ben Nicholls, Barney Morse-Brown https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/fairies-children-and-changelings
Audio Helpful Fairies Carolyne Larrington, Fay Hield, Brian McMahon, Lucy Farrell, Ewan McPherson https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/helpful-fairies
Audio Fairy Wives and Fairy Lovers Carolyne Larrington, Fay Hield https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/fairy-wives-and-fairy-lovers
Audio Introducing Fairies and Fairyland Carolyne Larrington, Fay Hield, Brian McMahon https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/introducing-fairies-and-fairyland
Audio Tolkien and the Oxford English Dictionary: 'The Ring of Words' Stuart Lee, Peter Gilliver, Jeremy Marshall, Edmund Weiner https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/tolkien-and-oxford-english-dictionary-ring-words
Audio Tolkien and Languages: Ancient and Invented Elizabeth Solopova, Stuart Lee https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/tolkien-and-languages-ancient-and-invented
Audio Talking Tolkien: The influences of Medieval Literature on the Fiction of J.R.R. Tolkien Stuart Lee, Elizabeth Solopova https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/talking-tolkien-influences-medieval-literature-fiction-j-r-r-tolkien
Audio J.R.R. Tolkien: Medievalist and Mythmaker Stuart Lee https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/j-r-r-tolkien-medievalist-and-mythmaker
Audio J.R.R. Tolkien 'Beyond the Shoreless Sea' Stuart Lee https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/j-r-r-tolkien-beyond-shoreless-sea
Audio Tolkien and Medieval Literature Elizabeth Solopova https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/tolkien-and-medieval-literature
Audio Tolkien's Languages Elizabeth Solopova https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/tolkiens-languages
Audio The Lord of the Rings: Tolkien's Legacy Elleke Boehmer, Stuart Lee, Patrick Curry, Dimitra Fimi, Andy Orchard https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/lord-rings-tolkiens-legacy-0
Video Approaching Fantasy Literature Stuart Lee http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/approaching-fantasy-literature
Video H. P. Lovecraft Stuart Lee http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/h-p-lovecraft
Audio Alan Garner Felix Taylor http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/alan-garner
Audio Interview: Catherine Butler Catherine Butler, Will Brockbank http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/interview-catherine-butler
Video Re-Enchanted: The Rise of Children’s Fantasy Literature in the Twentieth Century Maria Sachiko Cecire http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/re-enchanted-rise-childrens-fantasy-literature-twentieth-century
Video Why 'Game of Thrones' Matters Carolyne Larrington http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/why-game-thrones-matters
Video Diana Wynne Jones Gabriel Schenk http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/diana-wynne-jones
Video T. H. White Gabriel Schenk http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/t-h-white
Video Ursula K. Le Guin Caroline Batten http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/ursula-k-le-guin
Essay Outdoor Gothic Julian Thompson
Essay The Chimes: Dickens’s New Year Carol Julian Thompson
Essay This is a place one can go mad in – Ivor Gurney, Asylum Poet Kate Kennedy https://oclw.web.ox.ac.uk/
Video Significant Lives: Biography, autobiography, and women's history in South Asia Supriya Chaudhuri https://oclw.web.ox.ac.uk/article/supriya-chaudhuri-significant-lives-biography-autobiography-gender-and-womens-history-in-sou
Essay Is there any truth in biographical fictions? Katherine Collins https://oclw.web.ox.ac.uk/
Audio America’s War Culture since 9/11 Patrick Deer, Christine Strandmose Toft http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/americas-war-culture-911
Audio The First World War, India and Empire Santanu Das, Kate McLoughlin http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/first-world-war-india-and-empire
Audio Out of Silence 4: William Cowper Alexandra Harris, Kate McLoughlin http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/out-silence-4-william-cowper
Audio Out of Silence 3: D.H. Lawrence Alexandra Harris, Kate McLoughlin http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/out-silence-3-dh-lawrence
Audio Out of Silence 2: Virginia Woolf Alexandra Harris, Kate McLoughlin http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/out-silence-2-virginia-woolf
Audio Out of Silence 1: William Shakespeare Alexandra Harris, Kate McLoughlin http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/out-silence-1-william-shakespeare
Essay Sarah Howe - Artefacts of Writing Peter D McDonald https://artefactsofwriting.com/sarah-howe/
Essay Kirsty Gunn - Artefacts of Writing Peter D McDonald https://artefactsofwriting.com/kirsty-gunn/
Essay Tracy K. Smith - Artefacts of Writing Peter D McDonald https://artefactsofwriting.com/tracy-k-smith/
Essay Reading between life and work: Reflections on J.M. Coetzee’s life-writing Elleke Boehmer
Other Phillis Wheatley Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phillis_Wheatley
Image Phillis Wheatley
Essay Celebrating women's writing: the pen in their hands Ros Ballaster
Other A Play in Fragments by Maria Edgeworth - A Surviving Manuscript Ellen B. Brewster, Ros BallasterMaria Edgeworth
Essay Exhibiting Maria Edgeworth and Her Fellow Literary Lions Ros Ballaster, Ben Wilkinson-Turnbull
Video Brighton Ambitious: Some Fragments, a play by Maria Edgeworth Ellen B. Brewster, Ros BallasterMaria Edgeworth
Essay Brighton Ambitious: Some Fragments Ellen B. Brewster, Ros BallasterMaria Edgeworth
Essay Maria Edgeworth - A biographical note. Ros Ballaster
Video Patience Agbabi reading and conversation Patience Agbabi, Elleke Boehmer, Marion Turner https://writersmakeworlds.com
Video Lewis Carroll's Alice in Wonderland Robert Douglas-Fairhurst https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/
Video Middle Earth and Tolkien's Digital Afterlives Stuart Lee https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/
Video Philip Pullman's 'His Dark Materials' Margaret Kean https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/
Video The Death Masks of Macbeth Simon Palfrey https://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/dbooks/

Pages