You are here

Library

Please help us improve with this one minute survey (opens in a new tab)

‘Libraries are the wardrobes of literature, whence men, properly informed may bring forth something for ornament, much for curiosity, and more for use’ - William Dyer

Welcome to the Great Writers Inspire Resources Library. Here, you can search for and access thousands of literary open education resources such as audio and video podcasts, essays, ebooks, images and more. Explore the virtual shelves by searching by keyword in the title, author, and by media type.

If you don’t know where to begin, you can access our writer collections and themed collections for inspiration.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 3796
Format Title Author/Contributor Source Date Published
Essay Hand Signals from Beyond Julian Thompson 05 Jun 2020
Audio Key Critical Concepts: Metaphor William Ghosh 05 Jun 2020
Audio Key Critical Concepts: Authorship Emma Smith 05 Jun 2020
Audio The Modern American Novel: An Introduction Tessa Roynon 05 Jun 2020
Audio African American Literature: An Introduction Tessa Roynon 05 Jun 2020
Audio Toni Morrison: An Introduction Tessa Roynon 05 Jun 2020
Audio Hilary Mantel - Bart Van Es and Helen Small in Conversation about Third-Person Narrative in the Cromwell Trilogy Helen Small, Bart van Es 05 Jun 2020
Video Sylvia Townsend Warner Carolyne Larrington http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/sylvia-townsend-warner 05 Jun 2020
Essay How Short Can a Short Poem Be? Julian Thompson 02 Jun 2020
Essay ‘Not Like Normal People’: Samuel Richardson’s Clarissa and Sally Rooney’s Normal People Julian Thompson 02 Jun 2020
Essay This Old Man, That Old Man: Wordsworth Revises Wordsworth Julian Thompson 02 Jun 2020
Audio Loathly Ladies Carolyne Larrington, Fay Hield, Brian McMahon https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/loathly-ladies 21 May 2020
Audio Fairies, Children and Changelings Carolyne Larrington, Fay Hield, Brian McMahon, Marry Waterson, Ben Nicholls, Barney Morse-Brown https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/fairies-children-and-changelings 21 May 2020
Audio Helpful Fairies Carolyne Larrington, Fay Hield, Brian McMahon, Lucy Farrell, Ewan McPherson https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/helpful-fairies 21 May 2020
Audio Fairy Wives and Fairy Lovers Carolyne Larrington, Fay Hield https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/fairy-wives-and-fairy-lovers 21 May 2020
Audio Introducing Fairies and Fairyland Carolyne Larrington, Fay Hield, Brian McMahon https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/introducing-fairies-and-fairyland 21 May 2020
Audio Tolkien and the Oxford English Dictionary: 'The Ring of Words' Stuart Lee, Peter Gilliver, Jeremy Marshall, Edmund Weiner https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/tolkien-and-oxford-english-dictionary-ring-words 21 May 2020
Audio Tolkien and Languages: Ancient and Invented Elizabeth Solopova, Stuart Lee https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/tolkien-and-languages-ancient-and-invented 21 May 2020
Audio Talking Tolkien: The influences of Medieval Literature on the Fiction of J.R.R. Tolkien Stuart Lee, Elizabeth Solopova https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/talking-tolkien-influences-medieval-literature-fiction-j-r-r-tolkien 21 May 2020
Audio J.R.R. Tolkien: Medievalist and Mythmaker Stuart Lee https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/j-r-r-tolkien-medievalist-and-mythmaker 21 May 2020
Audio J.R.R. Tolkien 'Beyond the Shoreless Sea' Stuart Lee https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/j-r-r-tolkien-beyond-shoreless-sea 21 May 2020
Audio Tolkien and Medieval Literature Elizabeth Solopova https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/tolkien-and-medieval-literature 21 May 2020
Audio Tolkien's Languages Elizabeth Solopova https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/tolkiens-languages 21 May 2020
Audio The Lord of the Rings: Tolkien's Legacy Elleke Boehmer, Stuart Lee, Patrick Curry, Dimitra Fimi, Andy Orchard https://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/lord-rings-tolkiens-legacy-0 21 May 2020
Video Approaching Fantasy Literature Stuart Lee http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/approaching-fantasy-literature 21 May 2020
Video H. P. Lovecraft Stuart Lee http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/h-p-lovecraft 21 May 2020
Audio Alan Garner Felix Taylor http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/alan-garner 21 May 2020
Audio Interview: Catherine Butler Catherine Butler, Will Brockbank http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/interview-catherine-butler 21 May 2020
Video Re-Enchanted: The Rise of Children’s Fantasy Literature in the Twentieth Century Maria Sachiko Cecire http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/re-enchanted-rise-childrens-fantasy-literature-twentieth-century 21 May 2020
Video Why 'Game of Thrones' Matters Carolyne Larrington http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/why-game-thrones-matters 21 May 2020
Video Diana Wynne Jones Gabriel Schenk http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/diana-wynne-jones 21 May 2020
Video T. H. White Gabriel Schenk http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/t-h-white 21 May 2020
Video Ursula K. Le Guin Caroline Batten http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/ursula-k-le-guin 21 May 2020
Essay Outdoor Gothic Julian Thompson 14 May 2020
Essay The Chimes: Dickens’s New Year Carol Julian Thompson 14 May 2020
Essay This is a place one can go mad in – Ivor Gurney, Asylum Poet Kate Kennedy https://oclw.web.ox.ac.uk/ 12 May 2020
Video Significant Lives: Biography, autobiography, and women's history in South Asia Supriya Chaudhuri https://oclw.web.ox.ac.uk/article/supriya-chaudhuri-significant-lives-biography-autobiography-gender-and-womens-history-in-sou 12 May 2020
Essay Is there any truth in biographical fictions? Katherine Collins https://oclw.web.ox.ac.uk/ 12 May 2020
Audio America’s War Culture since 9/11 Patrick Deer, Christine Strandmose Toft http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/americas-war-culture-911 12 May 2020
Audio The First World War, India and Empire Santanu Das, Kate McLoughlin http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/first-world-war-india-and-empire 12 May 2020
Audio Out of Silence 4: William Cowper Alexandra Harris, Kate McLoughlin http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/out-silence-4-william-cowper 12 May 2020
Audio Out of Silence 3: D.H. Lawrence Alexandra Harris, Kate McLoughlin http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/out-silence-3-dh-lawrence 12 May 2020
Audio Out of Silence 2: Virginia Woolf Alexandra Harris, Kate McLoughlin http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/out-silence-2-virginia-woolf 12 May 2020
Audio Out of Silence 1: William Shakespeare Alexandra Harris, Kate McLoughlin http://podcasts.ox.ac.uk/out-silence-1-william-shakespeare 12 May 2020
Essay Sarah Howe - Artefacts of Writing Peter D McDonald https://artefactsofwriting.com/sarah-howe/ 04 May 2020
Essay Kirsty Gunn - Artefacts of Writing Peter D McDonald https://artefactsofwriting.com/kirsty-gunn/ 04 May 2020
Essay Tracy K. Smith - Artefacts of Writing Peter D McDonald https://artefactsofwriting.com/tracy-k-smith/ 04 May 2020
Essay Reading between life and work: Reflections on J.M. Coetzee’s life-writing Elleke Boehmer 08 Apr 2020
Other Phillis Wheatley Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phillis_Wheatley 05 Mar 2020
Image Phillis Wheatley 05 Mar 2020

Pages